Monday, December 28, 2009

What are gemstones?

Gemstones are the stones used for making Jewelry. These are beautiful, rare and expensive. Natural gemstones are classified as Precious stones and Semi precious stones.

Most of the gemstones are hard, crystalline, colorful and glittering. Gemstones are ever lasting or at least lasts for very long time. Hence these are excellent tool of investment. Gemstones are also used for fashion, decoration and as ornaments.

Navratna or nine gemstones are used in India for astrological purposes. Navratna is also referred as Rashiratna and Graharatna at many places.   Ruby, Pearl, Coral, Emerald, Yellow Sapphire, Diamond, Blue Sapphire, Hessonite and Cat's Eye are nine gemstones or Navratna used for nine planets the Sun, Moon, Marsh, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu respectively. Navratna or nine gemstones are precious stones according to Indian system of gemology.

Gemstones are also classified as diamond and color stones or colored stones. Most of the gemstones have beautiful  color hence called color stones or colored stones.

Ruby is red or pink, Pearl is white, Coral red or saffron, Emerald green, Yellow Sapphire yellow, Diamond white , Blue Sapphire blue , Hessonite mustard color and Cat's Eye is ranging between green to golden.

(Jyoti Kothari, proprietor, Vardhaman Gems, Jaipur represents centuries old tradition of excellence in Gems and Jewelry. He is also a Quality Management System ISO 9000 professional).


1 comment:

Lunia Jewels said...

Hi Jyoti,
You are an expert in Gems and Jewelry. I have read large number of your articles about Gemstones and Jewelry at different places.
You have nicely and briefly described the topic.